Occasionally, I get an idea for a painting that I know is not from me – it is inspired by God and it usually takes hold of me until I complete it. “Redeemed” and “Unblemished” are two such paintings. My latest piece is another one.

Please click here to see it larger.

risen-1000-darker

This painting symbolizes Jesus’ resurrection. The empty cocoon represents the empty tomb, and the butterfly represents Jesus’ risen body, and our resulting freedom from sin. The red and white in the butterfly symbolizes Jesus’ blood and the complete purity that we have now that we have been forgiven. The falling piece of paper claims “It is finished.” These were some of Jesus’ last words on the cross, and they are so powerful. They express triumph rather than defeat. Because of the truth of these words, we have life.

The resurrection of Jesus Christ is the very heart of Christianity. In 1 Corinthians 15 Paul reasoned, “If Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith.” In the same chapter he says “If Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins… If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are to be pitied more than all men.” But then Paul triumphantly declares, “But Christ has indeed been raised from the dead!”

On Easter morning some women and apostles went to Jesus’ tomb, expecting to find his body. But the tomb was empty, and the angel at the tomb told them, “He is not here; he has risen!” Later they saw Jesus face to face. I have not seen Jesus’ face, but I know that I will someday. His resurrection means that we all can.

Please contact me if you have any questions about this painting or about Christ’s death or resurrection.

Click here to purchase a limited edition print for a special January price of $95.00!

Help me title this painting!